Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Recently I have come across an article on the latest researches and developments of robots in Japan. So there are several different types of robots up to date. There are humanoid entertainment robots (for example, ASIMO developed by Honda), androids that look like human beings (Actroid and the HRP-4C), animal robots, social robots, rescue and guard robots and many many other robotic forms. It seems like the future is closer than we expected.

This article inspired me to write down a post. Today I would like to discuss some of my favorite films about artificial intelligence. Usually AI stands for the science and engineering elaboration of artificial forms of human body and intelligence. In a broader sense AI means the science that develops intelligent computer programs that would be able to understand human behavior and intelligence. So as you can see there are plenty of films that would be perfect to depict tasks and objects of artificial intelligence.

To tell the truth my knowledge and comprehension of the sphere are from being ideal. Anyway let’s get started.

In the very beginning I have mentioned so called androids. The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction defines the term as an artificial being that resembles a human in form, especially one made from flesh-like material. It seems like it reminds me something. Of course it is Blade Runner (1982) by Ridley Scott. By the way the movie is based on the novel “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep” by Philip K. Dick.

Number two in my list is Alien (1979) by Ridley Scott (his early works are true masterpieces indeed). The Alien that was found by the crew of the spaceship is perfect biological creature that kills people. It is thrilling indeed and by the way the film is supposed to be “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”. Well, it is definitely so.

Another movie related to the term of artificial intelligence is the Matrix (1999). This time the story is much more complex and we deal with the illusory designed world that is artificial completely. And it looks like it is a perfect world but it is not. I wish the Wachowski brothers had never done weak sequels of the Matrix. Frankly speaking I was bored watching them and to tell the truth I lost the initial idea of the storyline.

By the way if you like the Matrix I recommend you to watch the Thirteenth Floor (1999) that wasn’t so popular but it has a lot in common with the work by the Wachowski brothers. It depicts the virtual reality imitating Los Angeles of the 1930s.

All of the movies I mentioned in my post are pretty tough. But there is an animation that can be also titled as an artificial intelligence film. It is very nice. Probably you have guesses what I’m talking about. Of course it is Wall-E (2008). It turns out that artificial creatures and machines have feelings and emotions. Even though it is supposed to be an animated feature for children I’m sure it wouldn’t be pretty entertaining for their parents also.

