Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So, I got a new laptop the other day. And since the model itself is a new one, it originally came with Windows 8. Honestly, I wanted to try Windows 8 but I obviously didn’t know what I was getting into. This operating system is convenient if you use a touch screen computer. When I started using it, my first questions were:
1)Who hides the Shut Down button in Settings??
2)How do you close all those app windows that open in Start menu? (the one with all the icons)
3)Why the hell do windows disappear by themselves and where do they go?
3)How do I even activate Windows?! And many other questions.

In case you are a new user of Windows 8, I want to share my experience with you, I learned a few tips that many Windows 8 users google so I think what I say is going to help.
1. As you have probably noticed, the Shut Down button is hidden in Settings. If you don’t know where it is, swoop in from the top right-hand corner and pick settings – that’s where the button is. I don’t know about you but I find it very annoying going to Settings every time I want to turn off my PC. Some bloggers say you can create a shortcut, but I failed to do that, but I found other solution: press ALT + F4 for the Shut Down dialog to appear and pick Restart, Turn Off or Stand By, as in any other Windows OS. When I learned this way to shut it down, I swear, I wanted to yodel, while before that I wanted to scream something crazy like this. Some say “why turn it off when you can close the laptop, or just press power button, it is not incorrect”. How is that not incorrect? What about updates? What about windows that may be open? This way your PC won’t be able to close them and complete its work correctly, or am I wrong?
2. To close those windows, grab the top edge of the windows with mouse cursor and pull it down. It will get smaller and disappear as you keep pulling it down.
3. I still can’t figure out why those windows disappear, but now I know where to find them: point at the top left-hand corner, the last closed window will appear in a small icon-size. You will see that below that window there are others, point cursor at them and click. To close a small window, right-click on it and choose Close.
4. To activate Windows 8, go to your desktop. If you have the start menu open (the one with all the icons), click on the icon that says Desktop or tap the Windows logo key. At the bottom of your desktop find the Folder icon and click on it. In the window that appears find Computer (side menu) and right-click on it, select Properties. In Properties scroll down and find Windows activation status, click on the blue link and in the next window choose Activate (you will be offered to “Activate” or “Activate by phone”).
That’s all for now, if you know easier ways to do all those things, please, share!

